Skip to content

Digital Forensics Master's Degrees in California

Investigator at a workstation showing fingerprint search results

California has one clearly verified master’s specialization explicitly named Digital Forensics: National University’s MS in Cybersecurity, Specialization in Digital Forensics. The state also has several broader cybersecurity, information security, information technology, and computer science master’s degrees that include required or optional graduate coursework in digital forensics.

Those categories are not interchangeable. A named digital-forensics specialization typically devotes more of the degree to evidence acquisition, preservation, examination, documentation, and incident investigation. A cybersecurity degree may cover some of the same tools while allocating more coursework to network defense, secure engineering, penetration testing, cryptography, risk, or security operations. A computer science degree might offer only one forensic elective.

The 11 California-based programs below represent a reasonably complete set of currently verified master’s pathways with meaningful digital-forensics content. Minor gaps may remain among broad computer science or cybersecurity degrees that occasionally offer a forensic elective without featuring it in their published curriculum.

California digital forensics master’s programs compared

School and programClassificationFormatVerified forensic depthCreditsPublished tuition or program-cost basis
National University, MS in Cybersecurity, Digital ForensicsNamed specializationOnline or hybrid options advertisedFour specialization courses covering investigations, incident response, cloud forensics, and network forensics39 semester creditsEstimated program cost of $26,852 based on the university’s September 2026 tuition table
CSU Dominguez Hills, MS in Cyber SecurityCybersecurity degree with required forensicsIn person in CarsonRequired Foundations of Cyber Forensics; Advanced Cyber Forensics offered infrequently30 units$22,770 tuition before books and other fees; university estimate of about $23,000 to $25,000 for the degree
Cal Poly Pomona, MS in Information SecurityInformation security degree with forensic outcomesFully onlineDigital-forensics concepts and methodology selection are stated program outcomes31 unitsNo program total cited in the reviewed material
Sofia University, MS in Computer Science, Cyber Security and Information AssuranceConcentration with required forensic courseHybridMandatory Forensics and Attack Analysis course within a four-course concentrationAt least 42 unitsNo program total cited in the reviewed material
California Lutheran University, MS in Information Technology, Cybersecurity TrackCybersecurity track containing digital forensicsTrack courses at Thousand Oaks campusDedicated course covering imaging, deleted data, file systems, damaged media, device handling, and incident response36 creditsNo program total cited in the reviewed material
University of the Pacific, MS in CybersecurityCybersecurity degree with optional forensics courseOnlineIncident Response and Digital Forensics is a selectable technical-core courseAt least 30 unitsNo program total cited in the reviewed material
USC, MS in Cyber Security EngineeringCybersecurity engineering degree with optional forensics courseCampus or onlineComputer Forensics is one option in a technical course group28 unitsCurrent program total not cited here
University of San Diego, MS in Cyber Security EngineeringCybersecurity engineering degree with advertised forensics coverageOnline or campusDigital and network forensics are advertised, but no dedicated required forensic course appears in the current catalog30 to 36 unitsOnline total of $38,700 without the prerequisite course or $46,440 with it; campus totals are higher
Saint Mary’s College of California, MS in Computer ScienceAdjacent computer science degreeFully onlineDigital Forensics is one of three cybersecurity course options30 unitsPublished 2025-26 tuition of $39,000
UC Berkeley, Master of Information and CybersecurityAdjacent cybersecurity degreeOnline with short campus immersionOptional Security Operations course includes hands-on digital-forensics techniques27 unitsNo program total cited in the reviewed material
UC Davis, MS in Forensic ScienceAdjacent forensic science degreeCampus basedBroad forensic science degree with a computer-forensic-science course, but no Digital Evidence track54 quarter unitsCurrent program cost not cited here

The most direct comparison begins with National University and CSU Dominguez Hills. National University provides the only formally named Digital Forensics specialization found in the California research. CSUDH requires cyber forensics in a public-university cybersecurity degree, but its curriculum is broader and only one forensics course is clearly required.

The remaining programs divide into two groups. Cal Poly Pomona, Sofia, California Lutheran, and University of the Pacific publish meaningful digital-forensics outcomes or coursework within broader technical degrees. USC, USD, Saint Mary’s, UC Berkeley, and UC Davis provide more limited or optional exposure.

Students evaluating bachelor’s degrees, certificates, and other routes can also review the broader guide to digital forensics degrees in California.

What counts as graduate digital-forensics study?

Digital forensics focuses on identifying, preserving, acquiring, analyzing, documenting, and presenting evidence stored or transmitted through digital systems. Relevant evidence can come from computers, mobile devices, networks, cloud platforms, storage media, applications, logs, and electronic communications.

A graduate curriculum aimed at forensic examination should address more than general cybersecurity. Useful subject areas include:

  • Forensic acquisition and imaging
  • Evidence preservation and chain of custody
  • File systems and storage media
  • Deleted-data recovery
  • Operating-system artifacts
  • Mobile-device examination
  • Network traffic and logs
  • Cloud evidence
  • Incident reconstruction
  • Malware or attack analysis
  • Legal and ethical issues
  • Forensic reporting
  • Courtroom or evidentiary presentation
  • Hands-on use of forensic tools

Cybersecurity and digital forensics still overlap substantially. Incident responders preserve logs, reconstruct attacks, analyze compromised systems, and document findings. Security operations teams conduct internal investigations and use forensic techniques to determine what happened after a breach. The main difference is the degree’s center of gravity.

A security-engineering curriculum usually devotes more time to designing and defending systems. A digital-forensics curriculum devotes more time to reconstructing events and handling evidence after suspected misuse, intrusion, or crime. Applicants targeting evidence examination should favor programs that name specific investigative methods, evidence procedures, forensic tools, file-system analysis, and reporting requirements.

National University MS in Cybersecurity, Digital Forensics Specialization

National University offers the clearest California match for a student seeking a master’s credential formally labeled with a Digital Forensics specialization. The 39-semester-credit MS in Cybersecurity contains nine foundation courses and four specialization courses:

  • Threat Hunting and Incident Response
  • Digital Investigations
  • Cloud Forensics and Incident Response
  • Network Forensics

Published learning outcomes include workstation and server investigations, mobile-device investigations, evidence preservation, and examination of digital evidence associated with malicious or illegal activity. The foundation also covers cybersecurity tools, threat intelligence, wireless and mobile security, network monitoring, and cloud security.

This structure provides more investigation-specific coursework than a degree containing a single digital-forensics elective. Cloud forensics, network investigations, threat hunting, and incident response also reflect the environments in which many contemporary investigations occur. The program is better aligned with digital investigation and incident-response work than with a security degree focused primarily on governance or software assurance.

Students complete a three-course graduate project sequence ending with a presentation to a review panel. The program also identifies virtual laboratory work in its toolkit course. Current materials do not list a required external internship or campus residency.

National University advertises online or hybrid study, four-week courses, year-round enrollment, and an average completion time of 24 months. The specialization page does not identify which specialization courses have campus sections, so online availability is established more clearly than any specific hybrid schedule.

The university requires an interview with a faculty advisor before enrollment in the first program course. The reviewed program materials do not state that applicants must hold a computer science bachelor’s degree, though graduate admissions require documentation of prior education and individual programs can impose additional conditions.

National University’s September 2026 tuition table lists a base rate of $644 per semester credit for this degree. Using 39 credits and the university’s listed course-material charges, it publishes an estimated program cost of $26,852. That figure is not total cost of attendance and does not represent personal expenses or every possible charge.

National University is institutionally accredited by WSCUC. The university also states that its cybersecurity program is associated with a National Center of Academic Excellence in Cyber Defense designation through 2028. Neither recognition is the same as FEPAC accreditation, and the specialization does not appear in the current FEPAC directory.

One published detail remains unresolved. CYB 643 is titled Network Forensics, but the description displayed on the program page discusses cloud risk management rather than network-forensic analysis. The mismatch appears in the current materials, so the title is reliable but the page does not clearly establish that course’s precise content.

CSU Dominguez Hills MS in Cyber Security

California State University, Dominguez Hills offers a 30-unit MS in Cyber Security with Foundations of Cyber Forensics in its required core. Students take six core courses and four electives, then complete a graduate project.

Foundations of Cyber Forensics introduces computer-forensics investigation approaches and associated ethical issues. The catalog also lists Advanced Cyber Forensics, which uses digital-forensics cases to address technical, legal, and logistical challenges. That advanced course requires the foundation course and is offered infrequently. It did not appear in the displayed 2026 regular rotation.

The required foundation gives every graduate some exposure to computer investigations. Access to a second forensic course is less predictable because it depends on the elective schedule. The rest of the degree covers information security, policy, network security, practical cybersecurity, cyber operations, operating-system security, cloud computing, analytics, and related technical subjects.

CSUDH identifies the ability to conduct an advanced computer-forensics investigation and evaluate networks as a learning outcome. The graduate project adds supervised research or applied work, and the program includes laboratory-oriented cybersecurity study. Current materials do not list an external internship requirement.

This is an in-person program at the Carson campus. The university’s current FAQ says it is not offered online, and 2026 schedules show evening and weekend campus meetings. Completion is possible in approximately 18 months through the accelerated cohort structure. Older references to online availability no longer reflect the current format.

Admission generally requires a bachelor’s degree and at least a 2.5 GPA. Applicants with preparation in computer science, information technology, computer technology, or a related discipline may receive classified admission. Those without sufficient technical preparation can be assigned bridge work in subjects such as hardware, programming, operating systems, networking, web programming, network security, and statistics. The application also calls for a statement of purpose and two supporting letters.

The published rate is $759 per unit, producing $22,770 in tuition for ten three-unit courses. Books and other fees are additional. CSUDH estimates the complete degree at approximately $23,000 to $25,000, with pricing subject to change.

This route works well for applicants who want a broad technical cybersecurity degree and guaranteed exposure to cyber forensics in a public-university setting. It has less dedicated forensic depth than National University’s four-course specialization, especially when Advanced Cyber Forensics is not scheduled.

Cal Poly Pomona MS in Information Security

Cal Poly Pomona’s MS in Information Security is a 31-unit online degree consisting of ten courses and a culminating experience. Delivery combines asynchronous work with scheduled synchronous instruction, and synchronous sections are held in the evening.

The program identifies information security, IT auditing, and digital forensics as its three principal areas. Its published outcomes call for graduates to demonstrate digital-forensics concepts and select appropriate forensic methodologies. The university also identifies digital forensics and forensics specialist work among the program’s career areas.

Those outcomes establish a meaningful forensic component, but the current public program page does not display a complete course list. It therefore provides less curricular detail than National University’s named four-course specialization or California Lutheran’s published Digital Forensics course description. A specifically titled forensic course cannot be identified as a universal requirement from the current page.

Applicants need a four-year bachelor’s degree and foundational knowledge of networking, programming, and databases. The published minimum GPA is 2.5 for applicants with an information systems or related degree and 3.0 for other applicants.

Cal Poly Pomona is a practical online alternative for professionals interested in the intersection of information security, auditing, post-incident analysis, and digital evidence. Its digital-forensics learning outcomes are more explicit than the passing references found in some broad cybersecurity degrees, while the available curriculum leaves the number and depth of dedicated forensic courses less clear.

Sofia University MS in Computer Science, Cyber Security and Information Assurance

Sofia University’s MS in Computer Science requires at least 42 units and uses a hybrid combination of campus and online courses. Students complete 24 core units, a 12-unit concentration, a three-unit elective, a three-unit capstone, and a Work Integrated Learning requirement.

The Cyber Security and Information Assurance concentration contains four mandatory courses:

  • Cyber Security: Defense
  • Cyber Security: Forensics and Attack Analysis
  • Advanced Threat Analysis
  • Applied Cryptography

The required Forensics and Attack Analysis course covers collection, analysis, preservation, and interpretation of digital evidence. It also addresses evidentiary classifications, discovery procedures, courtroom presentation, forensic reports, and attack analysis. The course culminates in a case study involving forensic reports and evidence repositories.

That combination gives Sofia a clearer evidence-oriented component than programs where digital forensics is merely one possible elective. It also joins forensic investigation to defensive security, advanced threat analysis, and cryptography. The degree remains a computer science program, however, rather than a dedicated digital-forensics master’s.

All MSCS students must complete a zero-credit Work Integrated Learning class connected to employment, an internship, or approved volunteer experience. The capstone adds a separate applied or integrative requirement. Among the California programs reviewed, Sofia is one of the few with a mandatory work-integrated component stated in the curriculum.

The current catalog establishes the degree structure and required concentration courses. The supplied official material does not establish tuition, detailed admission prerequisites, or the exact balance of campus and online attendance.

California Lutheran University MSIT Cybersecurity Track

California Lutheran University offers a 36-credit MS in Information Technology with a Cybersecurity Track. The full degree comprises 12 courses and normally takes 12 to 24 months.

The cybersecurity curriculum identifies Digital Forensics, Ethical Hacking, Cloud Security, and Cybersecurity Risk Management. Its Digital Forensics course is unusually specific in its published coverage. Topics include:

  • Device collection and seizure
  • Forensic imaging
  • Recovery of deleted data
  • File-system analysis
  • Damaged-media analysis
  • Electronic communications
  • Suspect-device handling
  • Incident response

These topics align directly with evidence examination rather than treating forensics as a general synonym for breach investigation. Hands-on laboratory scenarios are used in Digital Forensics and Ethical Hacking.

General MSIT courses may be available online, but cybersecurity track courses require attendance at the Thousand Oaks campus. Evening scheduling supports working professionals, though the campus requirement prevents the track from functioning as a fully online degree.

The capstone can take the form of an internship or an IT project. California Lutheran states that prior cybersecurity experience is not required. The track page describes four cybersecurity courses and identifies the four subject areas above, although it does not clearly document future course rotation by cohort.

This curriculum is relevant to applicants seeking concrete experience with forensic imaging, data recovery, storage media, and device handling while retaining a broader information technology degree. Its dedicated course offers more investigation detail than curricula that mention digital forensics only inside security operations or incident handling.

University of the Pacific MS in Cybersecurity

University of the Pacific offers an online MS in Cybersecurity requiring at least 30 units. Students select six courses from a technical-core list that includes COMP 276 Security Operations: Incident Response and Digital Forensics.

COMP 276 covers forensic-analysis tools, incident-response planning, and case studies in digital forensics. Related technical options include software reverse engineering, network security, cybersecurity defense and offense, vulnerabilities, mobile and cloud security, and advanced networking.

Digital forensics is an option rather than a universal requirement. A student can shape the degree toward investigations by selecting COMP 276 and related technical courses, but the credential does not contain a named forensic concentration. The curriculum also includes hands-on labs, exercises, projects, and a capstone or other approved culminating option.

Admission requires a bachelor’s degree, official transcripts showing at least a 2.65 GPA, programming preparation, and two recommendations. Some applicants can face additional technical prerequisite or bootcamp requirements.

Pacific suits students interested in incident response, breach investigation, and security operations more than a narrowly defined evidence-examiner curriculum. Its selectable technical core allows more specialization than a fixed generalist curriculum, but the forensic course accounts for only one part of the overall degree.

USC MS in Cyber Security Engineering

The University of Southern California’s 28-unit MS in Cyber Security Engineering is available on campus and online through DEN@Viterbi. The program concentrates on secure information systems, applications, operating systems, networking, cryptography, assurance, privacy, and security policy.

Computer Forensics is one of several courses in a group from which students select at least two. Other options include Applied Cryptography, Trusted System Design, and Secure Systems Administration. Computer Forensics is therefore available but not required of every graduate.

The degree does not offer a thesis. Directed research can be requested after the first semester, while the published requirements do not identify a mandatory internship or external forensic practicum.

Applicants commonly bring backgrounds in engineering, computer science, mathematics, hard science, economics, or a related discipline. Applicants from other fields can need evidence of technical and mathematical proficiency.

USC is more closely aligned with security engineering than with dedicated digital evidence examination. It can support a forensic interest through course selection, especially when paired with systems, networking, and secure administration courses. Its verified curriculum provides only one specifically identified computer-forensics course, so it offers less investigative specialization than National University, Sofia, or California Lutheran.

University of San Diego MS in Cyber Security Engineering

The University of San Diego offers its MS in Cyber Security Engineering online, part time on campus, and full time on campus. The degree requires 30 units when the prerequisite is waived and 36 units when the six-unit CYBR 505 Computational Foundations course is required.

The current curriculum includes cybersecurity tools, network defense, cloud security operations, cryptography, artificial intelligence and machine learning security, penetration testing, adversarial operations, security testing, incident detection and handling, and two research courses. USD states that the program covers digital and network forensics, but the current catalog does not contain a named specialization or dedicated required course titled Digital Forensics.

Historical USD catalogs included a Digital Forensics and Incident Response course. That older structure should not be used to describe the current degree. Based on the present requirements, incident detection, handling, network defense, and cloud operations are the most visible curricular connections to investigative work.

The program uses hands-on work in simulated contested cyber environments and includes a capstone or research experience. No external internship or online campus-residency requirement appears in the current materials.

Online and part-time campus students generally finish in 20 to 24 months. The full-time campus route can be completed in about 18 months. Published online tuition is $38,700 without CYBR 505 and $46,440 with the prerequisite. Campus totals are listed at $60,000 for part-time study without CYBR 505, $72,000 with it, and $72,000 for full-time campus study. Additional campus fees can apply.

USD provides a technically broad cyber-engineering education with incident-handling relevance. It is less directly aligned with device acquisition, forensic imaging, deleted-data recovery, evidence documentation, and legal presentation than programs that publish dedicated forensic courses.

Adjacent California master’s degrees with limited forensic study

The next three programs contain legitimate digital-forensics content, but it is optional, narrow, or secondary to another academic focus. They belong in the comparison because they may fit applicants who want broader computer science, cybersecurity leadership, or traditional forensic science. They should not be described as digital-forensics master’s degrees.

Saint Mary’s College MS in Computer Science

Saint Mary’s offers a 30-unit, fully online MS in Computer Science designed for completion over three semesters, or approximately one year. The cohort format is mostly synchronous.

The curriculum includes advanced algorithms, artificial intelligence, information security, computer systems and networking, technology ethics, and a client-driven practicum. Students take three AI courses and select one cybersecurity offering from a group that includes Digital Forensics, Incident Response and Cybersecurity Management, and Cryptography and Network Security.

Digital Forensics is optional. A student can complete the program by selecting another cybersecurity course, and the official page does not promise that every option will run in every cohort.

The final practicum involves an industry or nonprofit partner, giving the degree an applied culminating experience. Applicants without a computer science degree must demonstrate previous study or competency in programming, data structures, and algorithms.

Published 2025-26 tuition was $1,300 per unit, or $39,000 for 30 units. The degree primarily serves applicants seeking graduate computer science and artificial intelligence study, with digital forensics available as a possible elective. It does not provide enough verified forensic coursework to function as a dedicated evidence-examination curriculum.

UC Berkeley Master of Information and Cybersecurity

UC Berkeley’s Master of Information and Cybersecurity requires 27 units and is designed for completion in 20 months. The program is online and part time, combining asynchronous work with weekly synchronous sessions. Students also complete a required two- to three-day campus immersion in Berkeley.

The curriculum consists of 12 foundation units, 12 advanced units, and a three-unit capstone. CYBER 252 Security Operations is one of the advanced course options. It covers incident response, internal investigations, threat intelligence, security analysis, and digital forensics.

Security Operations includes hands-on work and learning outcomes related to implementing incident-response and digital-forensics techniques. Digital forensics remains one part of one optional advanced course, not a concentration or degree-wide emphasis.

Applicants are expected to have strong academic, quantitative, analytical, programming, data-structures, and discrete-mathematics preparation. Those without adequate programming preparation can be assigned preparatory study.

Berkeley’s MICS is aligned more closely with security operations, cybersecurity leadership, and the organizational management of security than with extended forensic laboratory training. Its short required immersion also means the program is not entirely travel free despite being delivered primarily online.

UC Davis MS in Forensic Science

UC Davis offers a 54-quarter-unit MS in Forensic Science with current tracks in DNA Analysis and Criminalistics. Each track combines core study, seminars, electives, and thesis research. The curriculum also includes a course addressing threats to digitally captured, transmitted, or stored evidence and issues in computer forensic science.

The presence of that course does not create a Digital Evidence concentration. The broader degree includes lecture, fieldwork, laboratory, seminar, courtroom-testimony, and research components, but its principal scientific tracks are oriented toward DNA and criminalistics.

UC Davis is FEPAC accredited from March 1, 2026, through March 1, 2031 for DNA Analysis and Criminalistics. Digital Evidence is not listed as an accredited UC Davis concentration.

This program is more appropriate for scientists seeking broad criminalistics or DNA preparation with some exposure to digital evidence. It is not a substitute for graduate study centered on operating systems, mobile devices, networks, cloud platforms, forensic acquisition, and digital artifact analysis.

Format and hands-on training

California’s options include fully online, hybrid, and campus-based programs, but format alone says little about forensic depth.

National University pairs online availability with virtual laboratory work and a multistage project. Cal Poly Pomona combines synchronous and asynchronous online instruction with a culminating experience. Pacific advertises online labs, exercises, projects, and a capstone. UC Berkeley’s optional Security Operations course includes hands-on work, though the overall degree also requires a brief campus immersion.

Campus-based study does not always mean more forensics. CSUDH requires attendance in Carson and includes one required cyber-forensics course, while its advanced course is offered infrequently. California Lutheran requires the cybersecurity track courses at its Thousand Oaks campus and publishes detailed laboratory-oriented topics in its dedicated Digital Forensics course.

Sofia’s hybrid program adds a Work Integrated Learning requirement tied to employment, an internship, or approved volunteer work. Saint Mary’s uses an external client practicum but provides digital forensics only as an optional course.

For evidence-examiner preparation, the most useful practical experiences are exercises that require students to preserve evidence, create verified forensic images, recover artifacts, document methods, maintain an audit trail, analyze results, and prepare defensible reports. General hacking labs or network-defense simulations build useful technical skills, but they do not cover the complete forensic process unless evidence handling and reporting are explicitly included.

Admissions preparation for digital forensics graduate study

Technical preparation varies considerably. CSUDH can require bridge coursework for applicants without a related technical degree. Cal Poly Pomona expects knowledge of networking, programming, and databases. Pacific requires programming preparation, and Saint Mary’s expects competency in programming, data structures, and algorithms. Berkeley names programming, quantitative analysis, data structures, and discrete mathematics among its expected foundations.

National University’s reviewed program page does not state that a computer science bachelor’s degree is mandatory. California Lutheran says prior cybersecurity experience is not required. Those broader access points do not remove the technical demands of graduate digital-forensics work.

Useful preparation includes:

  1. Operating systems: Investigators need to understand how systems create, store, modify, and delete data.
  2. File systems and storage: Forensic imaging and artifact recovery rely on storage structures, metadata, partitions, and media behavior.
  3. Networking: Network evidence, logs, packet data, cloud systems, and incident reconstruction require networking fundamentals.
  4. Programming and scripting: Automation, data parsing, tool validation, and large-scale log analysis often involve Python, PowerShell, shell scripting, or another language.
  5. Computer architecture: Hardware, memory, storage devices, and system processes affect how evidence is collected and interpreted.
  6. Cybersecurity fundamentals: Threat behavior, authentication, access control, malware, vulnerabilities, and network defense provide context for an investigation.
  7. Technical writing: Forensic conclusions must be documented clearly enough for another analyst, attorney, manager, or fact finder to understand the methods and limitations.
  8. Statistics and analytical reasoning: Investigators need disciplined methods for interpreting evidence and avoiding unsupported conclusions.

Applicants changing careers from criminal justice, law, or another nontechnical field may need more preparatory work than the minimum admissions checklist suggests. A degree that admits nontechnical applicants can still move quickly through networking, operating systems, scripting, and security concepts.

Career alignment: choose the curriculum before the title

Digital-forensics education can support several kinds of work, but no master’s degree guarantees employment, certification, a security clearance, law-enforcement appointment, or qualification as an expert witness.

Digital evidence examiner

An examiner-focused curriculum should emphasize acquisition, forensic imaging, artifact recovery, file systems, devices, evidence preservation, reporting, and legal procedure. National University provides the largest verified set of courses specifically labeled around digital investigations and forensic environments. California Lutheran publishes the most detailed single-course coverage of device collection, imaging, deleted data, damaged media, and electronic communications. Sofia combines evidence handling with reporting and courtroom presentation.

Incident response and security operations

Incident responders need to identify compromised systems, preserve useful evidence, reconstruct activity, contain attacks, and document findings. National University, Pacific, UC Berkeley, USD, and Sofia all connect forensic techniques with incident response, attack analysis, or security operations.

Pacific and Berkeley treat forensics as part of broader security-operations education. That approach fits breach response and internal investigations but provides less verified coverage of full device examination than a dedicated forensic sequence.

Cybersecurity engineering

USC and USD emphasize secure systems, networking, cryptography, testing, defense, and engineering. Their curricula suit security architecture and technical defense more directly than evidence-examiner preparation. USC permits a Computer Forensics elective. USD advertises digital and network forensics but does not currently publish a dedicated required forensic course.

Information security and auditing

Cal Poly Pomona places digital forensics alongside information security and IT auditing. That combination can be relevant to internal investigations, control failures, compliance inquiries, and post-incident review. The program publishes forensic learning outcomes, although its current public page does not expose the full course-level structure.

General computer science with a forensic elective

Saint Mary’s provides graduate computer science and AI study with the possibility of one Digital Forensics course. This route fits a software or computing professional who wants limited forensic exposure. It is too broad and AI-heavy to be treated as equivalent to a forensic specialization.

Traditional forensic science

UC Davis serves a different audience. Its accredited tracks focus on DNA Analysis and Criminalistics, with only limited verified digital-evidence coverage. Laboratory criminalistics and digital forensics use different scientific foundations, instruments, evidence types, and investigative methods.

Understanding accreditation and designations

Accreditation terms can create confusion because several forms of recognition appear on cybersecurity and forensic-science pages.

Institutional accreditation applies to a university as an institution. National University and the University of San Diego state that they are institutionally accredited by WSCUC.

FEPAC accreditation is programmatic. The Forensic Science Education Programs Accreditation Commission can accredit qualifying bachelor’s and master’s forensic-science programs, including eligible Digital Evidence concentrations. According to the current FEPAC program directory, none of the California digital-forensics and cybersecurity pathways covered here is listed as a FEPAC-accredited graduate Digital Evidence program.

UC Davis is FEPAC accredited, but only for its named DNA Analysis and Criminalistics tracks. That status does not convert its computer-forensic-science course into an accredited Digital Evidence concentration.

NSA Center of Academic Excellence designations concern cybersecurity education or related institutional capabilities. National University identifies a National Center of Academic Excellence in Cyber Defense designation through 2028, and Cal Poly Pomona identifies an NCAE-C or CAE-CD association. These designations are not FEPAC accreditation.

A lack of FEPAC accreditation is not, by itself, proof of poor quality. The American Academy of Forensic Sciences explains that non-FEPAC-accredited programs can still provide sound education. In this field, curriculum depth, technical laboratories, evidence procedures, faculty expertise, and applied investigation work remain central to comparing programs.

Cost comparisons require the right denominator

Only a few of the programs publish clear totals in the reviewed official material, and the figures use different definitions.

National University lists an estimated program cost of $26,852 based on 39 credits at $644 per credit plus its stated course-material charges. It is not a complete cost-of-attendance figure.

CSUDH lists $22,770 in tuition for ten courses, before books and other fees. Its broader estimate is approximately $23,000 to $25,000 for the degree.

USD publishes format-specific totals. Online tuition is $38,700 when CYBR 505 is waived and $46,440 when it is required. Campus totals range from $60,000 to $72,000 in the published schedule, with some campus fees additional.

Saint Mary’s listed 2025-26 tuition of $39,000 for 30 units. That rate is from an earlier academic year than the September 2026 National University figure, so a direct ranking would mix pricing periods.

Format can add non-tuition expenses. CSUDH requires regular travel to Carson. California Lutheran’s cybersecurity courses require attendance in Thousand Oaks. Berkeley requires a two- to three-day campus immersion. Sofia uses hybrid delivery, though the current catalog page does not specify the exact on-campus frequency.

The better cost comparison is total required tuition and fees plus travel, equipment, software, and lost work time. A lower per-unit rate can still lead to a higher total when a program requires more credits or prerequisite courses.

A practical decision framework

Start with the kind of work the curriculum needs to support.

Applicants focused on digital evidence examination have the strongest verified alignment at National University, where four specialization courses address investigations, cloud forensics, incident response, and network forensics. California Lutheran provides a detailed dedicated course in imaging, recovery, storage media, and device handling. Sofia requires forensic investigation and attack analysis within its concentration and adds work-integrated learning.

Applicants wanting a broad cybersecurity degree with required exposure to cyber forensics can prioritize CSUDH. Its in-person format and published public-university pricing are clear, but Advanced Cyber Forensics is not regularly available.

Cal Poly Pomona is a fully online information-security route with explicit forensic learning outcomes. The main evidence limitation is that the current program page does not expose enough course detail to measure its dedicated forensic depth against the named offerings at National, Sofia, or California Lutheran.

Pacific offers a useful online route for incident response and security operations, provided the student selects its Incident Response and Digital Forensics course. USC offers stronger security-engineering breadth with one computer-forensics option. USD provides incident-handling and cyber-engineering depth but less clearly documented forensic examination coursework.

Berkeley and Saint Mary’s are better approached as adjacent degrees. Berkeley integrates hands-on forensic techniques into an optional Security Operations course, while Saint Mary’s offers one optional Digital Forensics class inside a computer science and AI curriculum. UC Davis is the appropriate comparison only when a student’s primary interest is traditional forensic science rather than technical digital evidence examination.

Golden Gate University has announced a proposed MS in Applied Cybersecurity that would require Digital Forensics and Incident Response, but the official page states that the degree is pending WSCUC approval. It is therefore not included as a currently available program.

The final choice should follow the curriculum, not the presence of “cyber,” “forensic,” or “security” in the degree title. For evidence examination, prioritize acquisition, imaging, file systems, artifact recovery, legal procedure, reporting, and practical casework. For incident response, emphasize network evidence, cloud systems, threat hunting, attack analysis, and security operations. For security engineering, favor systems assurance, cryptography, secure architecture, penetration testing, and network defense.