Skip to content

Online Forensic Psychology Bachelor's Degrees for California Students

Student with a backpack holding an open laptop

Online forensic psychology bachelor’s degrees generally take one of three forms:

  1. A standalone forensic psychology major
  2. A psychology major with a forensic psychology concentration or emphasis
  3. A criminal justice major with a smaller forensic psychology concentration

These routes serve different goals. Psychology degrees usually provide better preparation for graduate psychology study because they devote more coursework to statistics, research methods, psychological theory, cognition, development, biological psychology, abnormal psychology, and testing. Criminal justice degrees focus more on policing, courts, corrections, administration, and public safety systems.

None of these bachelor’s degrees qualifies a graduate to practice as a licensed psychologist in California. The California Board of Psychology requires a qualifying doctoral degree, 3,000 hours of supervised professional experience including 1,500 postdoctoral hours, required examinations, specified coursework, a background check, and other licensing steps. An online bachelor’s degree can prepare a student for graduate study or bachelor’s-level support work, but it is not a license to practice forensic psychology independently.

California also requires a separate review of online enrollment eligibility because the state does not participate in the State Authorization Reciprocity Agreement. An online program’s national availability or participation in SARA does not, by itself, establish that California residents may enroll. The first group below consists of programs for which current institutional materials support a California authorization, registration, exemption, approval, or applicable public-institution basis. Programs with unresolved California eligibility or unresolved online delivery appear in a separate section and are not treated as confirmed California options.

Readers comparing undergraduate and graduate routes can also review the broader guide to forensic psychology degrees and career preparation in California.

Confirmed online options for California students

SchoolOnline degreeAcademic baseCreditsSpecialization structurePractical component
Arizona State UniversityBA in Psychology, Forensic PsychologyPsychology120Forensic psychology concentrationNo required internship identified
Arizona State UniversityBS in Psychology, Forensic PsychologyPsychology120More quantitative forensic psychology concentrationNo required internship identified
Louisiana State UniversityBS in Psychology, Forensic PsychologyPsychology120Forensic psychology concentrationNo required internship identified
Maryville UniversityBA in Forensic PsychologyPsychology and criminal justiceConflicting official figures of 120 and 128Integrated major with substantial research courseworkOptional internship
Southern New Hampshire UniversityBA in Psychology, Forensic PsychologyPsychology120Four-course, 12-credit concentrationInternship may be selected as an elective
Florida Institute of TechnologyBA in Applied Psychology, Forensic PsychologyApplied psychology121Forensic specializationNo required residency identified
Columbia College, South CarolinaBS in Forensic PsychologyPsychology and criminal justiceNot specified in reviewed program sourceStandalone majorNo required residency identified
Touro University WorldwideBA in Psychology, Forensic PsychologyPsychologyNot specified in reviewed program sourceForensic psychology concentrationNo residency or mandatory internship identified
Walden UniversityBS in Psychology with Forensic Psychology concentrationPsychologyDepends on degree plan15-credit concentrationNo required residency identified
Columbia Southern UniversityBS in Psychology, ForensicsPsychology120Forensics concentrationNo required residency or internship identified

Two additional criminal justice degrees and one adjacent criminal psychology program have supported California enrollment bases, but they are not equivalent to psychology-major forensic psychology programs. They are compared later.

Psychology-based programs with confirmed California eligibility

Arizona State University Online BA and BS in Psychology, Forensic Psychology

Arizona State University offers both a BA and a BS in Psychology with a Forensic Psychology concentration. Each program requires 120 credits and uses 7.5-week online classes, but the two degrees differ in academic emphasis.

The BA combines psychology, statistics, research, law, criminal behavior, mental disorders, and legal decision-making within a broader liberal arts structure. It can support goals involving victim services, behavioral-health support, corrections, nonprofit programs, public administration, or graduate programs that accept a broad psychology foundation.

The online BS in Psychology, Forensic Psychology gives greater attention to psychological science, statistical reasoning, and research. Between the two ASU options, the BS is better aligned with research-oriented graduate plans. Doctoral admissions committees commonly examine performance in statistics, experimental psychology, research methods, and science courses, not simply whether the undergraduate degree includes “forensic” in its title.

Neither degree lists a required internship or campus residency. The absence of a required placement gives students scheduling flexibility, but applicants planning graduate study should seek research or applied experience beyond the required courses. Relevant options include faculty-supervised research, behavioral-health employment, victim-service volunteering, research assistance, or work in a justice-related agency.

ASU’s authorization materials establish its basis for serving California students, and the forensic psychology BA and BS are not listed among its California program exceptions. ASU does not publish one universal program price because charges can vary according to enrollment and student circumstances.

ASU also supports California community college transfer planning. The university’s MyPath2ASU system provides course-by-course transfer maps, and ASU reports partnerships with all 116 California community colleges through more than 400 transfer pathways. These are general ASU pathways rather than a promise that every college has a forensic-psychology-specific map. The applicable major map and final degree audit determine whether transferred courses satisfy the BA or BS concentration requirements.

Louisiana State University Online BS in Psychology with a Forensic Psychology Concentration

LSU’s 120-credit online BS is offered through its Department of Psychology and College of Humanities and Social Sciences. Its coursework examines psychological principles, behavioral science, research, criminal behavior, and the use of psychology in legal settings.

Because the underlying degree is a psychology BS, it offers a more suitable base for psychology graduate study than a criminal justice degree containing only a few behavioral courses. Applicants with doctoral ambitions should still examine how much advanced statistics, experimental work, and faculty-supervised research they can complete. The required curriculum does not list an internship, California field placement, or campus residency.

LSU publishes tuition of $465 per credit for the program. This is a tuition rate, not a complete cost of attendance. Transfer credit, university fees, books, financial aid, and later tuition changes affect the amount a student pays.

LSU’s current online policies state that its online courses are available in every U.S. state through the university’s authorization process. The university presents this bachelor’s degree as preparation for related employment or graduate education, not as a psychologist-licensure program.

Maryville University Online BA in Forensic Psychology

Maryville’s BA integrates psychology, criminal justice, criminology, and social science research rather than attaching a small concentration to a general psychology degree. Its interdisciplinary structure provides substantial exposure to both human behavior and justice systems.

The published curriculum includes abnormal psychology, biological psychology, cognition, psychological testing, forensic psychology, criminal behavior, juvenile delinquency, criminal investigation, and police psychology. Maryville also identifies an 18-credit social science research sequence. That sequence provides more methodological preparation than programs requiring only one introductory research course.

An optional three-credit internship allows students to add practical experience without making field placement a universal requirement. Qualified undergraduates may also use Maryville’s Early Access option to complete as many as 12 graduate credits.

Maryville’s official pages conflict on total credits. The main program page states 120 credits, while the detailed curriculum page states 128. That discrepancy affects graduation planning and makes a full tuition calculation unreliable. The conflict should be resolved in the student’s written degree evaluation before using either figure to estimate total tuition.

Maryville advertises the program as 100 percent online and states that its BA in Forensic Psychology is authorized, exempt, or otherwise not subject to approval in all 50 states, including California.

This program works better for students seeking an integrated psychology-and-criminal-justice curriculum than for those who want a narrowly scientific psychology BS. Its research sequence is useful for graduate preparation, while the optional internship gives working students control over whether to add a placement.

Southern New Hampshire University Online BA in Psychology, Forensic Psychology

SNHU offers a 120-credit psychology BA with a four-course, 12-credit Forensic Psychology concentration. Classes use eight-week terms, and the university permits substantial transfer credit subject to evaluation.

The concentration covers forensic psychology, criminal behavior, deviance, profiling, ethics, courts, witnesses, and the effects of crime. Because the specialization occupies only 12 credits, most of the degree remains a general psychology curriculum. This structure preserves breadth, but it offers less specialized study than Maryville’s integrated major or a 24-credit concentration such as Bushnell’s unverified California option.

One concentration elective may be completed as an internship. The current materials do not list an internship as a universal requirement, so students can complete the degree without relying on a California field placement.

Published online undergraduate tuition is $354 per credit, or $42,480 for 120 credits before accepted transfer credit, financial aid, or future rate changes. Transfer students may pay considerably less tuition to SNHU if prior courses satisfy general education and major requirements rather than applying only as electives.

SNHU is institutionally accredited by the New England Commission of Higher Education and lists California as exempt for state-authorization purposes. The university expressly states that the bachelor’s program does not lead directly to licensure.

Florida Institute of Technology Online BA in Applied Psychology, Forensic Psychology

Florida Tech’s 121-credit BA is an applied psychology degree with a Forensic Psychology specialization. Courses are asynchronous and use eight-week terms.

The program includes 57 applied psychology credits in addition to general education and electives. Subjects include statistics, research methods, experimental psychology, testing and measurement, ethics, forensic clinical psychology, psychology and law, integrated theories of crime, and victim studies.

This curriculum contains more named psychology and forensic content than a general psychology degree with a four-course concentration. It remains a nonlicensure bachelor’s degree. A course titled “forensic clinical psychology” does not authorize a graduate to diagnose patients, conduct competency evaluations, offer psychotherapy, or provide independent expert psychological services.

Florida Tech publishes tuition of $572.92 per credit and stated program tuition of $69,323.32 for 121 credits. The university distinguishes this figure from broader cost-of-attendance estimates that may include living and personal expenses. No campus residency was identified in the program materials.

Florida Tech states that it is authorized to offer online education in all 50 states, including California. It also omits this degree from its list of programs intended to lead to professional licensure or certification.

The program’s research, measurement, and experimental psychology courses provide useful graduate preparation. A student targeting competitive doctoral admission would still benefit from empirical research experience that extends beyond ordinary course assignments.

Columbia College Online BS in Forensic Psychology

Columbia College in South Carolina offers its BS in Forensic Psychology online and on campus. The online route uses asynchronous seven-week courses with no required login times, and the college may accept up to 90 transfer credits.

This is a direct forensic psychology major rather than a general psychology degree with a small concentration. Its interdisciplinary curriculum includes criminological theory, psychological disorders, personality, behavioral analysis, criminal justice ethics, and legal applications.

The degree can provide relevant academic preparation for bachelor’s-level work in social services, corrections, victim advocacy, case management, program support, and justice-related organizations. It can also establish an undergraduate base for graduate study, although research-intensive graduate programs will expect evidence of statistical ability, research experience, strong academic writing, and close faculty relationships.

Columbia College explains that graduate education and licensure are required to practice as a forensic psychologist. No campus residency was identified. The college’s current compliance materials expressly state that it may offer online education in California.

Students with substantial transfer credit should compare the college’s 90-credit transfer ceiling with the number of credits that actually apply to the major. A high transfer maximum saves little time if required psychology and forensic courses still need to be completed after enrollment.

Touro University Worldwide Online BA in Psychology, Forensic Psychology

Touro University Worldwide offers a BA in Psychology with a Forensic Psychology concentration entirely online. The program has no residency requirement, uses eight-week sessions, offers multiple start dates, and may accept up to 90 semester credits.

The concentration examines competency and insanity defenses, eyewitness testimony, interrogation, lie detection, offender rehabilitation, criminal profiling, police psychology, mental health courts, psychopathy, addiction, and antisocial personality. Its focus is psychology and law rather than crime-scene processing or forensic laboratory work.

No mandatory internship was identified. The lack of a required placement reduces geographic complications for California residents, but students seeking applied experience will need to pursue suitable employment, volunteering, research, or an optional learning experience outside the required curriculum.

Touro University Worldwide is institutionally accredited by WSCUC and operates under a California approval basis described in its consumer information. The bachelor’s degree does not lead to psychologist licensure.

This curriculum is best aligned with students who want broad exposure to legal applications of psychology. Those preparing for research-intensive graduate study should compare its statistics, methods, biological psychology, and faculty-research opportunities with more quantitatively oriented BS programs.

Walden University Online BS in Psychology with a Forensic Psychology Concentration

Walden’s online BS in Psychology can be paired with a 15-credit Forensic Psychology concentration. The published concentration list addresses psychology and law, criminal behavior, ethics, profiling, police psychology, legal proceedings, courts, and corrections.

The program’s structure merits close review. Although the concentration is identified as 15 credits, students select three concentration courses from the published forensic list. It provides exposure to the specialty, but its required forensic depth is more limited than an integrated forensic psychology major.

Walden displayed an estimated $47,810 figure on the concentration page. That amount should be read as an estimate rather than a fixed degree price. Actual charges vary according to transfer credit, pace, fees, tuition structure, and the number of credits completed through Walden.

No required internship or residency was identified. Walden’s state-authorization materials list California as a state in which the university is registered to provide distance education.

Walden fits students seeking a general online psychology degree with selected forensic electives. Applicants seeking a highly specialized curriculum should compare the actual concentration requirements with programs that devote a larger share of the degree to psychology-and-law coursework.

Columbia Southern University Online BS in Psychology, Forensics

Columbia Southern’s 120-credit BS is a psychology degree with a Forensics concentration. The university delivers it completely online and may accept up to 90 transfer credits.

The psychology core covers research methods, development, learning, emotion, behavior, and general or applied psychology. The concentration examines psychology’s relationship to forensic criminal justice. This is separate from Columbia Southern’s BS in Criminal Justice Administration with a Forensic Psychology concentration.

Published undergraduate tuition is $278 per credit. The advertised rate should not be multiplied by 120 to estimate every student’s cost because accepted transfer credits, fees, books, financial aid, and tuition changes can alter the amount billed.

No required internship or campus residency was identified. Columbia Southern identifies SACSCOC institutional accreditation in its program materials, and its state-authorization information establishes a California registration basis.

Between Columbia Southern’s two forensic psychology options, the BS in Psychology is the better route for students prioritizing psychology graduate preparation. The criminal justice administration degree is more closely aligned with agency operations, corrections, policing, and justice-system management.

Online programs requiring additional California or delivery confirmation

The programs in this section are current online offerings or plausible online pathways, but the reviewed authoritative materials did not establish every fact needed to classify them as confirmed California options. They are excluded from the confirmed comparison above.

The unresolved issue is not evidence that a program has been discontinued or that California residents are prohibited from enrolling. It means the available sources do not support a definitive statewide-availability claim.

Bay Path University Online BA in Psychology: Forensic Psychology

Bay Path’s 120-credit online BA uses asynchronous seven-week sessions and may accept up to 90 transfer credits. The curriculum includes criminal behavior, psychopathology, substance use, crisis intervention, ethics, female offenders, and applications of psychology in legal settings.

Approximately 18 credits address forensic psychology topics, giving the specialization more room than a four-course concentration while preserving a psychology-major foundation.

The practical requirement remains unresolved. Bay Path’s residential forensic psychology page identifies a six-credit, 240-hour senior internship, but the online page does not state whether that requirement applies to online students. Current public materials therefore do not establish whether an online California student would need a local placement.

Bay Path’s reviewed materials also did not provide a sufficiently specific California authorization basis. Both enrollment eligibility and the online internship requirement need a written answer before this program can be treated as a confirmed California route.

Grand Canyon University Online BS in Psychology with an Emphasis in Forensic Psychology

Grand Canyon University offers a 120-credit BS with seven-week online classes. Coursework includes abnormal psychology, statistics, research methods, cognitive neuroscience, criminal behavior, profiling, victimology, trauma, and justice-system procedures.

A capstone requires a research proposal. That assignment provides structured practice in developing research questions and designing a study, although it is not equivalent to conducting an empirical thesis or working in a faculty laboratory.

Published online tuition is $490 per credit before scholarships, aid, or transfer credit. The program does not identify a required internship or campus residency. Its curriculum incorporates the university’s Christian worldview.

Grand Canyon’s current materials establish the online program, but the reviewed compliance source did not provide a sufficiently specific California basis for this bachelor’s degree. It therefore remains outside the confirmed California group.

George Mason University BA or BS in Psychology with a Forensic Psychology Concentration

George Mason University confirms that its 120-credit BA and BS in Psychology can be completed online. Its current catalog also confirms a 15-credit Forensic Psychology concentration covering psychology and law, mental illness in the criminal justice system, victims, courtroom applications, and psychological factors in criminal behavior.

California eligibility is not the unresolved issue here. George Mason’s authorization materials explain the public-institution basis under which it serves California students.

The missing evidence concerns the concentration’s delivery. The online psychology page lists forensic psychology as a possible concentration, and current scheduling information shows an online section for at least one required forensic course. The reviewed sources do not demonstrate that every required course and approved elective is offered online in a workable graduation sequence.

George Mason therefore should not be represented as a confirmed fully online forensic psychology pathway. It remains a plausible option for a California student once the university provides a concentration-specific online completion plan.

Lindenwood University Online BA in Applied Psychology, Forensic Psychology and Criminology

Lindenwood offers this applied psychology degree online, on campus, and in blended formats. Its curriculum combines human development, abnormal psychology, motivation, cultural psychology, statistics, research methods, criminology, criminal law, criminal behavior, social deviance, juvenile justice, race and crime, and criminal justice ethics.

A senior experiential-learning capstone is included. The program occupies a middle ground between a traditional psychology major and a criminal justice degree, with more criminology than many psychology programs but a stronger behavioral-science base than justice-administration degrees.

The current program page confirms online delivery. A program-specific California enrollment basis was not established in the reviewed authorization materials, so the degree remains an unverified California option.

Bushnell University BS in Psychology with a Forensic Psychology Concentration

Bushnell’s 24-credit Forensic Psychology concentration is larger than many competing concentrations. Coursework includes forensic psychology, social psychology, cognition, corrections, criminal procedure, investigation, criminology, juvenile justice, victimology, personality, addiction, counseling, and trauma-related electives.

The broader psychology curriculum includes research methods, behavioral neuroscience, psychopathology, and a capstone. Students in the forensic concentration also complete a supervised internship.

The internship adds meaningful applied experience, but Bushnell’s public materials do not explain how a California student would secure and obtain approval for a local site. The available policies describe site agreements and professional supervision without establishing California placement procedures.

Bushnell’s online availability is documented generally, but the reviewed sources did not provide a sufficiently specific California authorization basis. Both enrollment eligibility and local internship feasibility remain unresolved.

Faulkner University Online BS in Forensic Psychology

Faulkner offers a 121-hour online BS specifically titled Forensic Psychology. Designed for adult learners, it combines psychology with law, forensics, criminal justice, ethics, crime-victim advocacy, biology, and general education.

The published plan includes biology with laboratory study. This does not convert the program into forensic science or criminalistics training. Laboratory criminalist positions generally require substantially more chemistry, biology, quantitative analysis, instrumentation, and laboratory methods.

Faulkner lists adult online tuition of $335 per semester hour plus a $75-per-semester-hour online-course fee. These are component charges, not a complete degree cost. Applying the two rates across all 121 hours would ignore transfer credit, other charges, future pricing, and the way individual courses are billed.

The official pages establish a current online program, but the reviewed sources do not establish a current California enrollment basis. The degree should remain outside a confirmed California list until that issue is resolved.

Kean University Online BA in Psychology, Forensic Psychology

Kean lists its BA in Psychology, Forensic Psychology among its 100 percent online undergraduate offerings. The university describes its online bachelor’s programs as degree-completion routes for students bringing previous college credit.

The 120-credit curriculum includes psychological statistics, tests and measurements, experimental psychology, lifespan development, abnormal psychology, social psychology, physiological psychology, forensic psychology, criminal justice, deviance, and philosophy of law. An optional psychology internship appears in the curriculum.

The curriculum sheet requires a 3.0 GPA for declaring and completing the major. Kean does not publish one universal transfer-credit minimum for every applicant on the program page.

Kean’s research, measurement, and experimental coursework gives it a suitable academic base for later psychology study. Its California enrollment basis was not established in the reviewed compliance materials, so it remains an unverified option for California residents.

These programs have supported California enrollment bases, but their academic focus differs from a psychology bachelor’s degree with a forensic psychology concentration.

Waldorf University Online BS in Criminal Justice, Forensic Psychology

Waldorf’s 120-credit online degree is a criminal justice program with a 12-credit Forensic Psychology concentration. The concentration includes developmental psychology, forensic psychology, abnormal psychology, and psychological assessment.

The 60-credit criminal justice major remains the academic center of the degree. This route works better for criminal justice administration, corrections, public safety, or law-enforcement support than for research-oriented psychology graduate study.

A psychology graduate program may expect courses not central to Waldorf’s curriculum, including experimental psychology, advanced statistics, biological psychology, cognition, and a broader psychology sequence. No required residency was identified. Waldorf’s authorization materials establish its California registration basis.

Columbia Southern University Online BS in Criminal Justice Administration, Forensic Psychology

This 120-credit program examines policing, courts, corrections, and criminal justice administration while adding forensic psychology content. It is completely online and may accept up to 90 transfer credits.

Published undergraduate tuition is $278 per credit. No required residency or field placement was identified.

The degree is better aligned with corrections, public safety, justice administration, and agency operations than with psychology graduate preparation. Columbia Southern’s separate BS in Psychology, Forensics offers the stronger psychology foundation. The university’s authorization materials establish a California registration basis for distance education.

Liberty University Online BS in Psychology, Criminal Psychology

Liberty’s program is a psychology BS with a Criminal Psychology specialization. It is adjacent to forensic psychology, but the titles should not be treated as interchangeable.

Criminal psychology concentrates heavily on criminal behavior, offending, and the psychological characteristics or motivations associated with crime. Forensic psychology more broadly addresses courts, legal decision-making, mental health law, competency, eyewitness evidence, corrections, police psychology, and applications of psychological science to legal procedures.

Liberty’s state-approval materials support its basis for online enrollment, including students in California. The program can suit students primarily interested in criminal behavior, but it should not be represented as a forensic psychology degree.

Purdue Global also offers a current online BS in Criminal Justice with a four-course Forensic Psychology concentration. Because a sufficiently specific California enrollment basis was not established in the reviewed materials, it is not included among the confirmed California options.

How specialization depth changes the degree

A concentration label does not reveal how much forensic psychology a student will actually study. The number and type of required courses provide a clearer comparison.

SNHU uses a four-course, 12-credit concentration. Walden publishes a 15-credit concentration in which students select three courses from a larger forensic list. Waldorf also requires 12 concentration credits, but those courses sit inside a criminal justice degree rather than a psychology major.

Maryville distributes substantial coursework across psychology, criminal justice, criminology, and an 18-credit social science research sequence. Florida Tech requires 57 applied psychology credits within a 121-credit program and includes several forensic and law-related subjects. Columbia College uses a direct forensic psychology major rather than a small add-on concentration.

More specialty courses do not automatically produce better graduate preparation. A future doctoral applicant may benefit more from advanced statistics, experimental design, biological psychology, psychological measurement, an empirical thesis, and faculty research than from several survey courses on profiling or criminal behavior.

Career goals should determine the preferred balance:

  • Research-oriented graduate psychology: Prioritize statistics, experimental psychology, research methods, testing, biological psychology, faculty research, and advanced writing.
  • Victim services or behavioral support: Look for trauma, crisis intervention, psychopathology, addiction, counseling-related coursework, and supervised experience.
  • Corrections or justice administration: An interdisciplinary psychology and criminology degree may fit, while a criminal justice bachelor’s can provide more direct study of agency operations.
  • Psychology and law: Favor programs with coursework in legal decision-making, competency, eyewitness evidence, mental health law, courts, and police psychology.

Preparing for graduate study and California licensure

Graduate admissions committees evaluate the content and rigor of an applicant’s education, not simply the degree title. A strong undergraduate foundation commonly includes:

  • Statistics
  • Research methods
  • Experimental psychology
  • Abnormal psychology
  • Social psychology
  • Cognitive psychology
  • Developmental psychology
  • Biological or physiological psychology
  • Psychological testing and measurement
  • Substantial academic writing
  • Faculty-supervised research
  • Relevant volunteer or work experience

ASU’s BS, Florida Tech’s applied psychology curriculum, Kean’s research and measurement sequence, Maryville’s research requirements, and Grand Canyon’s research capstone contain useful elements. Kean and Grand Canyon remain outside the confirmed California list, but their curricular structures illustrate the features that matter for graduate preparation.

Online education can limit access to in-person laboratories and faculty research teams. Students can strengthen a course-based record through virtual research groups, independent studies, community data projects, local university research, senior theses, conference presentations, or sustained work with a faculty mentor. These experiences also create a stronger basis for recommendation letters.

California psychologist licensure comes after graduate education. The Board of Psychology requires a qualifying doctoral degree, 3,000 supervised professional hours including 1,500 postdoctoral hours, the Examination for Professional Practice in Psychology, the California Psychology Laws and Ethics Examination, specified coursework, a background check, and other requirements.

A bachelor’s graduate is not qualified to conduct independent forensic evaluations, diagnose patients, provide psychotherapy, testify as a licensed psychological expert, or use a protected psychologist title. The undergraduate degree should be selected for the academic record and experience it builds for the next stage.

Career alignment at the bachelor’s level

A forensic psychology bachelor’s graduate may compete for entry-level work in behavioral health, social services, victim advocacy, corrections, probation support, case management, research assistance, program administration, or justice-related nonprofit organizations. Eligibility depends on the employer, duties, civil-service classification, experience requirements, and whether a position is sworn or civilian.

“Forensic psychologist” generally refers to a licensed psychologist applying professional expertise in legal contexts. It is not an entry-level bachelor’s outcome.

Crime-scene and evidence positions involve different training. A crime scene investigator or evidence technician may need skills in scene documentation, evidence recognition and recovery, photography, fingerprints, chain of custody, report writing, and courtroom testimony. A forensic psychology degree ordinarily does not provide that technical preparation.

Laboratory criminalists and forensic scientists follow another route. California criminalist requirements illustrate why laboratory science matters: employers may require chemistry, biology, quantitative analysis, molecular science, instrumentation, and extensive laboratory coursework. Psychology and law courses do not substitute for that scientific foundation.

The target occupation provides a better decision rule than the word “forensic”:

  • Licensed forensic psychologist: Build a rigorous psychology foundation for doctoral admission, research, supervised training, examinations, and licensure.
  • Bachelor’s-level victim or behavioral services: Prioritize trauma, crisis intervention, psychopathology, addiction, case management, and practical experience.
  • Corrections or justice administration: Compare psychology-and-criminology programs with criminal justice degrees based on the intended role.
  • Crime-scene work: Choose education with scene processing, photography, fingerprints, documentation, evidence handling, and practical exercises.
  • Crime-laboratory work: Choose chemistry, biology, biochemistry, or a laboratory-centered forensic science program that satisfies employer science requirements.

Transfer planning from a California community college

Several universities in this guide advertise generous transfer policies. Columbia College, Touro University Worldwide, Columbia Southern University, and some programs awaiting California confirmation may accept up to 90 transfer credits. Kean structures its online bachelor’s offerings as degree-completion programs.

A high transfer ceiling does not mean every California community college course will satisfy the major. A university may accept a course while applying it only as a general elective. Efficient transfer plans place prior coursework into general education, lower-division psychology, statistics, research methods, and major prerequisites.

Useful California community college courses can include:

  • Introductory psychology
  • Statistics
  • Research methods, where offered
  • Lifespan or developmental psychology
  • Abnormal psychology
  • Social psychology
  • Introductory sociology
  • Introductory criminal justice
  • College composition
  • Biological science with laboratory work

ASU reports partnerships with all 116 California community colleges and more than 400 transfer pathways. MyPath2ASU can provide a customized course map, but students still need a map applicable to their college and intended major. The final ASU degree audit controls how credits apply to the forensic psychology concentration.

Transfer efficiency should not be the only criterion for students planning doctoral study. Completing upper-division statistics, experimental psychology, research methods, and supervised research at the degree-granting institution can help establish faculty relationships and generate stronger graduate-school recommendations.

Comparing tuition accurately

Published tuition rates in the reviewed materials include:

  • Columbia Southern University: $278 per undergraduate credit
  • Southern New Hampshire University: $354 per credit
  • Louisiana State University: $465 per credit
  • Florida Institute of Technology: $572.92 per credit

Faulkner publishes $335 per semester hour plus a $75-per-semester-hour online-course fee, but it remains outside the confirmed California group. Grand Canyon publishes $490 per credit and also remains unverified for California enrollment in this review.

Per-credit rates are not complete cost estimates. Mandatory fees, books, technology charges, tuition increases, transfer credit, financial aid, and the number of credits completed at the university all change the amount paid.

Transfer application can matter more than a modest difference in price. A university with a higher rate may cost less if it applies substantially more previous coursework toward graduation. Conversely, a 90-credit acceptance policy provides limited savings when many credits become electives and the student still needs a long major sequence.

Maryville’s conflicting 120-credit and 128-credit figures prevent a reliable total based on current public information. Walden’s displayed estimate depends on pace, transfer credit, fees, and tuition structure. ASU uses individualized tuition calculations rather than publishing one universal program total.

Accreditation and undergraduate psychology programs

Institutional accreditation is the primary accreditation issue for these bachelor’s degrees. It affects federal financial aid eligibility, transfer review, graduate admissions, and how other institutions evaluate previous study.

The reviewed evidence does not establish specialized American Psychological Association accreditation for any of these bachelor’s programs. A school may state that an undergraduate curriculum follows APA guidelines. That is a curricular alignment claim, not APA program accreditation.

FEPAC accreditation applies to eligible forensic science and criminalistics programs. It is not the standard specialized accreditation for forensic psychology bachelor’s degrees. A psychology-and-law program should not be judged as though it were a chemistry-based forensic science degree.

Accreditation also does not replace licensure. An institutionally accredited university can offer a valid psychology bachelor’s degree that does not lead directly to psychologist licensure.

A practical decision framework

Students planning graduate psychology study should favor a psychology BA or BS with strong statistics, research methods, experimental psychology, biological psychology, academic writing, and access to faculty research. ASU’s BS and Florida Tech’s applied psychology program offer clearly relevant quantitative and research coursework among the confirmed California options. Maryville adds a substantial social science research sequence within an interdisciplinary major.

Students seeking broader psychology-and-law coverage can compare Touro University Worldwide, Maryville, Columbia College, and the forensic concentrations at ASU, LSU, SNHU, Walden, and Columbia Southern. The main tradeoff is depth. A small concentration preserves general psychology breadth, while a standalone or integrated major devotes more coursework to law, criminal behavior, courts, corrections, and victim-related subjects.

Practical experience varies. Maryville offers an optional internship, and SNHU may allow an internship as a concentration elective. Several confirmed programs do not require a placement. That flexibility helps working adults, but it also means students may graduate without supervised applied experience unless they pursue it independently.

Criminal justice programs from Waldorf and Columbia Southern fit a different objective. They are better aligned with corrections, public safety, agency administration, and justice-system operations than with research-intensive psychology graduate admissions. Liberty’s criminal psychology specialization remains a psychology program, but its focus on criminal behavior is narrower than the broader psychology-and-law field.

For a future licensed forensic psychologist, the best undergraduate route is the one that produces a strong graduate-school record: high grades, quantitative competence, rigorous research methods, sustained faculty relationships, research experience, and relevant service or employment. For bachelor’s-level work, choose the curriculum and practical experience tied to the actual role, whether that is victim services, behavioral health, corrections, case management, research support, or program administration. The courses completed and the experience gained carry more weight than the word “forensic” in the degree title.